Choosing a Decent PC for Deep Learning

Hello All,
I am a Beginner of Deep Learning. I have had a hands-on experience on Machine Learning. Now I am gonna do some project on Deep Learning based Object Detection using CNN model. For that I need a decent PC with GPU in a Budget Price. What are the minimum requirements for a GPU and CPU?. I can only buy NVIDIA GTX 1050 (4 GB) or 1060 (6 GB).
For decent speed, what CPU specifications do I need ?
What type of data sets we can use with Single GPU?

There’s a good discussion in this medium article.

I doubt you’ll find a parts list but you’ll better understand a lot of things you need to optimize for.

Also, if you are very new to deep learning and on a limited budget I recommend AWS spot instances. I hear paperspace and crestle are good places to start as well.

My first card was a gtx 1050 ti. It worked fine for most of the examples. You can train sample sets on your CPU pretty easily as well. Instructions are in the videos and mentioned on github in the fastai repo README.md

As opposed to building your own machine definitely consider some of the clouds offerings. The cloud will enable you to gain access to better computation power like V100 which have Tensor cores enabling faster computation. Additionally, another reason to go with the cloud is it constantly updates with new hardware(SSDs, CPUs, GPUs).

Thank you replying me telarson.
I got committed a project on DL based Object detection. I need a standalone system. So, the minimum hardware requirements to do small projects with a limited data sets. Because, I’m going to deploy it on Raspberry Pi. For that too much size of data set is no use.
My thinking on hardware requirements is:

1. Intel I5-Processor (3.2 Ghz)
  2. GTX 1060 / 1050ti (4/6 GB) GPU
  3. RAM 8/16 GB?
  4. Storage SSD 250GB or HDD 7200 Rpm (1 TB)

These are the requirements I have noted. Can you optimize it?

1 Like

Hi Uday!