Cats & Dogs based on colours what about the human brain

The Lesson 1 mentions that we will differentiate between cats and dogs based on colour of each pixel that represents a cat and a dog. I know this might sound far fetched what if we have cat and dog with exactly the same colours in essence two pictures of a cat and dog respectively that has the same pixel values for RGB. Then how will the algorithm work?

The reason I am asking this I believe (I am not an expert by any chance) the human brain not only uses colours but also features of a cat/dog to differentiate between them?

Can someone please elaborate?

Sure! You could build an algorithm that just uses color information. That would be just like using a color histograms and inputting them to your model.

And you are correct. You could have two pictures of different things with very similar histograms, so just using histograms probably wouldn’t work super well… Convolutional neural nets do use color to classify images, but they are also very good at detecting edges and higher order features that are made up of combinations of edges or other higher order features.

You are also correct about the human brain. Here is a seminal paper on receptive fields in the cat’s visual cortex.

But it is unlikely, that the cat and dog looks the same in terms of (size , edges, and shape and color etc)

@Partha: You are right, that is the point I am trying to make. Since the implementation currently uses only colours then there is a very low likelihood however low (that in some cases the classification will fail) I reckon for images that are very close for example a bengal cat vs tiger

@erikg Thanks for the contribution you thought on our classification failing for “bengal cats” vs “tigers” based on colours alone? May be I will try it