Category embeddings across columns

Hi everyone,

I’m a legal researcher dipping my toe into the world of ML. I have a question about using categorical embeddings across different columns: is it possible/easy to implement for a novice?

Take this example. In some courts a matter might be heard by a panel of (for example) one, two, or three judges. When there is only one judge, I can load in a column of the judge and ask Fast.ai to create an embedding for each separate judge identity. But what do I do when the number of judges increases and I want draw on each different judge’s embedding across different columns? Put differently, if Person A might show up in column 1, 2, or 3, how do I tell Fast.ai that Person A is the same person?

My question is similar to this one asked in 2019.

Thanks!

Hi!

There are several options you could follow.

1. Keep all the judges in one column; if there is only one judge, this one can be easily embedded. If there are several, you can either separate them with a comma, sort them lexicographically, and then use an embedding. This would handle one, two, three, well, any number of judges. Since this would implicitly count how many different strings there are (how many unique row values) and encode it either with a (by you) given number of values OR with, quote straight from fastai-docs

Through trial and error, this general rule takes the lower of two values:

• A dimension space of 600
  • A dimension space equal to 1.6 times the cardinality of the variable to 0.56.
    Why lexicographically ordering? Otherwise Judge Santa and Judge Claus can be assigned once as Judge 1 and Judge 2, the other time as Judge 2 and Judge 1 and this would result in different embeddings. This might be interesting provided they have different powers depending on the position they take, I know nothing about law :). If this could happen, then the order would be interesting, otherwise, see below