Building deep learning workstation for $2200

Hey guys, this is the first PC I’m building myself so I expect I will make a decent amount of mistakes which might be obvious to more experienced people. I plan to use this pc for deep learning/ computer vision tasks. I’m going to start with one GPU but purchase up to 3 in the future. Kindly give your opinion.

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/M4DKkd

Check the existing threads on here for much more rich discussions.

I’ve been building PCs for 20 years and I think it looks like a nice one.

Any thoughts on going with 1080ti vs 2080/2080ti? I’ve signed up for the upcoming live course and was pondering whether to upgrade my 1060 6GB to one of these options. I’m wondering if 8GB at half precision can handle as much/more as 11GB at full precision.

Dettmers’ TL;DR; recs:

TL;DR advice

Best GPU overall : RTX 2080 Ti
Cost-efficient but expensive : RTX 2080, GTX 1080
Cost-efficient and cheap : GTX 1070, GTX 1070 Ti, GTX 1060
I work with datasets > 250GB : RTX 2080 Ti or RTX 2080
I have little money : GTX 1060 (6GB)
I have almost no money : GTX 1050 Ti (4GB) or CPU (prototyping) + AWS/TPU (training)
I do Kaggle : GTX 1060 (6GB) for prototyping, AWS for final training; use fastai library
I am a competitive computer vision researcher : GTX 2080 Ti; upgrade to RTX Titan in 2019
I am a researcher : RTX 2080 Ti or GTX 10XX -> RTX Titan — check the memory requirements of your current models
I want to build a GPU cluster : This is really complicated, you can get some ideas here
I started deep learning and I am serious about it : Start with a GTX 1060 (6GB) or a cheap GTX 1070 or GTX 1070 Ti if you can find one. Depending on what area you choose next (startup, Kaggle, research, applied deep learning) sell your GPU and buy something more appropriate
I want to try deep learning, but I am not serious about it : GTX 1050 Ti (4 or 2GB)

2 Likes