AttributeError: denorm (GradCam)

Hi there! Maybe someone can help me with this problem:

I want to dive into CNN activation visualizations, eg GradCam. I tried to code along lesson 6 of fastai v3 part 1, and I tried to use the code from @quan.tran

However, I always get the following error (fastai 1.0.60, torch1.4.0)

I checked the internal fastai method for gradcam, and it doesn’t seem to use denorm:

xb,_ = self.data.one_item(im, detach=False, denorm=False)

However, I didn’t get this to run with my own or Quan’s method.

Any help is appreciated, total beginner here :slight_smile: Thank you!

Johannes

1 Like

Hi @johannesstutz! Firstly thanks for trying out my code I appreciate it!

So the problem is the library version. My gradcam code was tested using fastai 1.0.55 where denorm was a function of fastai Dataset(?) object. In version 1.0.66, I believe it has been integrated as function argument for function one_item. My guess is you can change these lines from:

xb._ = data_cln.one_item(x)
xb_im = Image(data_cln.denorm(xb)[0])

into

xb._ = data_cln.one_item(x,denorm=False)
xb_im = Image(data_cln.one_item(x,denorm=True))

Haven’t tested it yet but I think it should at least solve the AttributeError issue.

1 Like

Well, thank you for providing the code!

I tried again today, and I’m a little confused but happy: your implementation is running fine now (still on fastai 1.0.60). Maybe I messed something else up the last time.

I’ll play around a little more. Do you know if there’s an easy way to visualize other layers than the last one? The goal being a higher res version of the heatmap.

Cheers! Johannes

1 Like

Glad it works!
About the visualization of other layers, I answered a similar question regarding to this here, you can take a look: GradCam and Guided Backprop intergration in Fastai library