Any high school students on this forum?

First of all, thank you so much to Jeremy Howard and Rachel Thomas for this fantastic course! After looking around to learn advanced deep learning techniques, I have to say fast.ai is the finest course I’ve ever taken on deep learning.

I am a junior high student currently residing in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. My story is that I wanted to look for ways to contribute to the medical field - therefore I started taking Andrew Ng’s Stanford Machine Learning and deeplearning.ai, during the summer after freshman year. While both had vast amounts of theory, it wasn’t enough to be competitive in this continually changing world. I have been since working with a professor in Canada on a medical signal processing project - and I couldn’t have done it without taking this course.

Are there other high school students that would like to share your stories?

4 Likes

James, I’m not a student, but I am a high school administrator. I’m brand new to my school, which is a STEM school in Georgia, and like you, I’m a big fan of fastai. I’m very interested in introducing our students to machine learning and deep learning. However, most do not yet have python or swift programming skills.

I’m curious about a couple of things. Perhaps you can help. I’m wondering what would be the best & quickest way to develop python programming skills among students. I learned initially through Udacity. I know Codecademy is popular. What would you recommend? We have computer technology courses here, but unfortunately, the standards don’t emphasize data science concepts.

Also, and this is probably a question for @jeremy or @rachel, should I focus on exposing students to swift instead? I assume that I should start them on python, then introduce them to fastai, and then introduce them to swift, but I’m not certain.

I’d love to know your thoughts.

1 Like