Advice needed to tackle a recommder systems problem

So I work at a place that is trying to crack rec sys for a bunch of users who are being served a stack of content cards of various categories

We have two types of users

1. dense (for which we have features like region,time of day active etc + interactions data on the cards that are rewarded as either 1 or 0 based on a like)
  2. sparse (same features as above but very little/no interaction data)

The dense interaction data at the user level can also get me their inclination at a category level, like an avg of 0.5 reward for sports, 0.3 for news etc

We also have content data (text body) + metadata (category like news or sports, time of publishing etc)

Whats the best way to approach this? Do I approach it as an NCF problem or as tabular data problem? I’m not sure how to incorporate all this data in the former, and how well suited the latter is to the problem space)

Looking for advice! TIA!

1 Like

I have no personal experience doing this, but did just read about it in Chapter 8 of the book on collaborative filtering in the section titled Bootstrapping a Collaborative Filtering Model:

The biggest challenge with using collaborative filtering models in practice is the bootstrapping problem. The most extreme version of this problem is when you have no users, and therefore no history to learn from. What products do you recommend to your very first user?