Absolute Beginner - Loading MNIST instead of dogs vs cats

Hi there!
I’m running a Jupyter notebook on a Paperspace Gradient P5000 machine. I’m attempting my first run through of lesson 1 using the MNIST dataset instead of the dogs and cats.

I changed this line of code:
path = untar_data(URLs.MNIST); path

When I step through the notebook line by line and run it by pressing Shift + Enter as I go, it doesn’t appear to do anything at all. No errors. No data. Nothing.

Here are my questions:

1. What have I done wrong?
  2. Where should I look in the lesson one video for clarification?

For whatever it’s worth, I have nearly no experience with Python, and I’m completely new to machine learning and neural networks.

2 Likes

The untar_data function will download data, if you don’t already have it on your machine. If for whatever reason it is already downloaded, it can look like nothing is happening. If you put path.ls() in it’s own cell and run that cell do you get anything back?

Another thing you can try if there is nothing in the ‘path’ variable you define, is to go to ‘kernal’ -> ‘restart kernel’ if you feel that the notebook really isn’t executing any commands. You can also try entering some simple code to make sure the notebook is executing code (ie 2+2). If you put that as the last line in the same sell with your untar_data function, you will know for sure that it is executing that cell and getting past that function.

Thanks a million for the input - I will try it a little bit later this afternoon and will let you know if that resolved the issue. Thanks again for your help!

1 Like

It seems pretty clear that I don’t know what I’m doing…

Here’s the code I’ve modified which appears to run successfully:
#=================================================
%reload_ext autoreload
%autoreload 2
%matplotlib inline

from fastai.vision import *
from fastai.metrics import error_rate

bs = 64
path = untar_data(URLs.MNIST)