Keras 2 Released

Looks like Keras 2 was just released.

Some major changes are in there, but it’s all backwards compatible (for the most part).

Part 1 of the class’s TimeDistributedDense layer was removed, which probably should be discussed.

9 Likes

I believe we always used TimeDistributed(Dense(…)), which was not removed. Let me know if you spot anywhere we used the removed version.

In general, please folks let me know any time you find any incompatibilities with the provided code, or think that there are better ways to express it in the new API. I’ve been thinking recently about the best ways to keep the content up to date, so this will be a good test…

2 Likes

I’m still very new to python and anaconda. So far I’ve set up with python 3, keras, and theano. Can anybody share advice on how to upgrade?

Do I create a new environment? Or just replace what I’ve got.

Should I select the integrated tensor flow version or the multi-backend one?

thanks for being so responsive, excited for part 2

I’d very strongly suggest using python 2.7 and keras 1 and theano if you’re new to python. Otherwise you’ll need to port the code as you go, which will be a distraction from learning deep learning.

You’ll be learning py3 and tensorflow in part 2 of the course - so you won’t miss out! :slight_smile:

4 Likes

I can’t wait to see the exciting courses in part-2, hope these amazing courses will be released soon~

1 Like

activity_l1 and activity_l2 have been removed from keras.regularizers in version 2.
This causes an error when trying to import the utils.py module. It doesn’t seem that utils.py actually makes use of these imports, though.

5 Likes

I also encountered more than a few errors using Keras 2 on Lesson 1 (Dogs vs. Cats). I wasn’t able to resolve them, but rolling back to Keras 1.1.1 (uninstall Keras 2 and manually install Keras 1.1.1) allowed me to continue on Lesson 1