Any Ideas on how to modify Resnet with Images that have 2 channels?

Hi,

After having the first course yesterday I want to replicate the notebook and try it on a different dataset to both challenge myself and have some fun.

So there is a Kaggle competition going on right on link here: https://www.kaggle.com/statoil

Most of the kernels I’ve come across are defining their own CNN classes which seems to be the right way to go with this competition since image data consists of 2 channels (1 - HH band image, 2 - HV band image) .

My question is this: Would there be a way to hack Resnet in order to allow to train it for this problem. These might sound stupid since I am fairly new to DL but some of the ideas I am came up with are:

• Adding a 3rd channel which will be equal for each image. This way the kernels won’t be affected by the 3rd channel while they are being updated and the net might only focus on our original 2 channels.

img = (np.array(train['band_1'][0]) + np.array(train['band_2'][0])).reshape(75, 75) + np.zeros((75, 75))

• Redefining the architecture to allow 2 channel images. This seemed really hard to me :smiley: At least what I’ve understand from complex ResNet paper is that many layer’s depend on the residuals of the previous later. So only updating first convolutional layer to let’s say to (75, 75, 2) won’t do it.

Thanks !

6 Likes

Hi @kcturgutlu,

It’s great to see that you are already looking at other datasets that you could apply what you learnt in Lesson 1. For this competition from statoil, you may not be able to use Resnet. The dataset dimensions are only 75x75x2 and Resnet requires a minimum size of 197 on width and height along it being a 3D (RGB) Tensor. So, I would suggest you -

1. Choose a different competition in Kaggle that you might be able to directly apply what you learnt even if it’s a kaggle competition that’s not currently running. Fisheries is a good one - https://www.kaggle.com/c/the-nature-conservancy-fisheries-monitoring