While training the model, it displays #na# in the columns

Hey!
So I’m trying to train a model to interpret CAPTCHA codes, and this is my first attempt at working with the lessons taught in lecture 1. I managed to set up the ImageDataBunch and the learner successfully, but as I try training the data, it just shows #na# in most of the read-out columns. (such as error_rate/accuracy)
Training

I capping the max learning rate, and that caused the “train loss” to actually increase.
CappedTrain

Here’s the learning rate curve:
learncurve

I would appreciate any help on this one. Thanks!

2 Likes

I’m also having this issue… Would love to have some input on this…

how did you split the data? do you actually have a validation set?

1 Like

Hey! So my data set was just a set of pictures in a single folder. So I gave the ‘valid_pct’ a value of 0.2 in the ImageDataBunch function pass. That’s about all I’ve done. Should I be doing anything else?
Thanks

It looks like you are trying to treat every CAPTCHA as a different category. I don’t see how that could work. The network doesn’t care about your category names (they are converted to sequential numbers internally). So how could it ever learn to categorise a CAPTCHA it hasn’t seen?
This also means that when validating it has different categories toi those in the training set, hence the warning. Then, as it’s basically guessing from the space of all CAPTCHAs present in your dataset, there is a tiny chance of it ever getting a label right so the loss will involve a very large number of possible categories and a likely 0 success rate and so give an invalid value.

You need another approach for this sort of problem (or if just using this to practice I’d find another problem). You’d want to do something like object detection to detect each letter individually.

2 Likes