Novel proposition: data loading callback system for easier understanding and customization (?

Hi I am new to fastai. And I found developement using fastai can be really fast :heart_eyes:, but I also found, in my opinion, data loading procedure may be not flexible enough and not that intuitive. :thinking:

I also make a novel proposition, which I think might have a chance to be literally 1. customizable to any data loading problem, and make anybody 2. understand data loading from head to toes within one single step and be able to customize it. :laughing:

Problem encountered: use Transformer Decoder to do Laguage Model

(you might can skip to proposition below if you are not familiar with or interested in the input of lagugale model problem)

data loading procedure in this setting is special, and in my knowledge it should be like this.
Untitled Diagram

Problem Points

1. Although there is a special dataloader LMDataLoader in fastai2 to collect items(texts) into sample, but it is fixed and won’t take care of positon and token type ids.
    -> transform pipeline can’t let us customize how to turn items into one sample.
    (other example of sample from multiple items might be like mix two images (items) into one image as an sample.

2. For a newbie like me, the logic of data loading process from dataframe/files to x_batch and y_batch seems like scattered over source codes. It’s hard to understand when where splitter, labeling,… applied and what variables they can see.
    -> may want a file or a function to see the whole data loading logic, so be able to know where and how customize it.

3. dataloaders only includes train and val data when created, we have to load items by ourself and call test_dl, why don’t we include test set at the time of creating dataloaders and have a function like learn.test() ** to validate test set?**

Novel Proposition: data loading callback system