NLP classification with high cardinality outputs

Hello all,

I’ve recently finished the 2020 course and have set out to put together a project to cement my learnings. My goal for this project is to output recommendations for emojis to “Emojify” text written by users, see example below.

+-------+-------------------------------+----------+
| Index | text                          | label    |
| 1     | Wow, I love taco tuesday!     | 🌮, 🇲🇽    |
| 2     | I had a horrible day at work. | 😢, 😡, 👩‍💻 |

Currently, I am having issues in framing the problem. I’ve been following the ULMFiT example in the fastai docs but all my results thus far have been unimpressive.

In order to accomplish this task, I am scraping data from Twitter. I have a sizable dataset (1M Tweets containing emoji) with reasonable class-balanced.

I have some limited experience working on NLP problems so before I jump into my code I’d like to ask the forum what their strategy would be in framing a problem like this? Thus far I’ve tried the following approaches:

• Treat this like a MultiCategory problem (Potentially many labels per observation).

To do this I loosely followed the multicast notebook covered in the course, Combining the ULMFiT method with the MultiCategoryBlock. Doing this yielded very high multi-accuracy. The issue with this was the model was very conservative in its output. All predictions were generated with incredibly low confidence. Feeding text like the example I provided above would never result in a prediction even with low (20%) multi-accuracy thresholds.

• Treat this like a Non-Multi Category problem.