ImageDataBunch calling int() for None type

Hi, I have some experience with ML and even some DL, but it’s my first time using fast.ai (other than the course and some toy stuff).

I’m trying to create a ImageDataBunch to train my model, but getting an error I cannot decipher.

def get_label(filename):
    id = os.path.basename(filename)[:-4]
    if id in the_big_dic_of_categories:
        return the_big_dic_of_categories[id]
    else:
        print(f"{filename} is not in dic")
        return -1

data = ImageDataBunch.from_name_func("datasets/train", fnames, label_func=get_label, valid_pct=0.3)

fnames contains the WindowsPath for all the images, which are in “datasets/train” (really some subfolders). All images exists and are right, or at least I have previously modified them with PIL without issue.

The error I’m getting is: TypeError: int() argument must be a string, a bytes-like object or a number, not 'NoneType'

First I suspected some image could be corrupted, but checked and standardized all of them with PIL and everything looks fine. I also thought this may be related to some of my labels being quite unbalanced, so some of them may be in the training set but not the validation or something like that, in which case I’m not sure how to solve it with fast.ai

I’m leaving the full traceback here:
TypeError Traceback (most recent call last)
in
12 data = pickle.load(f)
13 else:
—> 14 data = ImageDataBunch.from_name_func(“datasets/train”, fnames, label_func=get_label, valid_pct=0.3)

~\AppData\Local\Continuum\miniconda3\envs\kaggle\lib\site-packages\fastai\vision\data.py in from_name_func(cls, path, fnames, label_func, valid_pct, **kwargs)
    144         "Create from list of `fnames` in `path` with `label_func`."
    145         src = ImageList(fnames, path=path).split_by_rand_pct(valid_pct)
--> 146         return cls.create_from_ll(src.label_from_func(label_func), **kwargs)
    148     @classmethod