Help! DataBlock mysteriously altering data

I’m really new to all of this (including Python itself), and I am absolutely stumped about what is going on with my DataBlock/Transforms.

I’m trying to take in a bunch of tabular-ish data and turn it into images, from which I want to get two regression predictions. I managed to get everything working (images created, labels generated, things loaded into a DataBlock, etc.) all the way up to training and getting predictions from a model, but when I went back to try to make extra improvements I noticed that my data was behaving bizarrely.

Setup

Each of my “images” is a three-channel tensor that is normalized/feature-scaled so its values are in the range [0,1]. To double-check that this is the case, I’ve confirmed that the min and max of every input item is 0 and 1, respectively, before I feed the data to the DataBlock.

I pass the data into the DataBlock as a list of zipped tuples (i.e. (input, target)), where the input is a 3xHxW tensor/ImageTensor and the target is a tensor with two values (essentially a high prediction and a low prediction).

The issue

After I put my data into the DataBlock, some kind of transform or multiplication happens, because my input items are no longer in the range [0,1]. I’ve added some print statements into transforms and things to try to figure out when this happens, but I just can’t seem to find it.

Code

Here’s what my DataBlock looks like, along with some of the transforms/helper functions I’m using:

def get_items(data): # Should essentially just pass the data along. If there's a way to do that without 
  return data        # having to use this kind of separate function, that'd be great to know!

class ItemGettr(ItemTransform): # Just copy/pasted ItemGetter with a print statement
    _retain = False
    def __init__(self, i): self.i = i
    def encodes(self, x):
      res = x[self.i]
      print(f'{res.amin()}/{res.amax()}') # Print min/max. This is roundabout where the problem happens