GPU not utilised, problem with DataLoader

Hi everyone!

I have been trying to implement a Conditional Variational Autoencoder with FastAI v2. I came across a great example in another thread in the forums here. So far, so good!

I am trying to run the original example notebook in Colab, and although I am using a GPU runtime, the GPU is being underutilised, while the CPU is working at 100%; an epoch takes 1:30 minutes, which is a lot compared to what is shown in the example notebook from the thread above (around 20 seconds per epoch). I am training on MNIST and have changed nothing about the notebook, yet I seem unable to make my setup utilise the GPU.

I used W&B to monitor the system stats - the GPU Utilisation is consistently under 15%, while the CPU utilisation is at 100%. My intution is that the model is waiting on the DataLoaders, which are using the CPU, but I’m not an expert in the new API. The relevant code is the following:

mnist = DataBlock(blocks=(ImageBlock(cls=PILImageBWNoised), CategoryBlock, ImageBlock(cls=PILImageTarget)), 
             get_items=get_image_files,
             get_x= [noop, parent_label],
             splitter=GrandparentSplitter(train_name='training' if url == URLs.MNIST else 'train', valid_name='testing' if url == URLs.MNIST else 'valid'),
             batch_tfms=[AddNoiseTransform(.3), Normalize()],
             n_inp=2)

dls = mnist.dataloaders(path, num_workers=4, bs=4096, device=device)

I encountered some other topics in the forum where people suggested changing the num_workers argument to speed things up. This lead me to printing dls.num_workers and that returns 1, even though I set it to 4 in the above code snippet.

I am finding this very very confusing - why isn’t the GPU being utilised? What’s up with num_workers and why isn’t it being set correctly?

Any help is appreciated!

Are you able to increase your batch size?

1 Like

Hi @toad_energy,