Get_preds() error with only one sample, multiple identical samples or multiple different short samples: ValueError: max() arg is an empty sequence

Version: fastai==2.3.0

I am new to fastai, and I am trying to get predictions on some text data with a previously trained model. When I tokenize and infer on my pandas DataFrame containing multiple records with different texts, the inference runs fine. However, if I run it with only one sample, or with multiple samples that are the exact same text, or with multiple different but short samples, I am getting an error from get_preds() that I believe is arising from when fastai is trying to iterate over my data. I have tried changing the batch size in my dataloader to see if that solves the problem, to no avail. Here is the code I am using with a batch size (bs) of 1 set in my dataloader:

from fastai.text.all import *

learner = load_learner(model_path, cpu=False)

# Tokenize DataFrame
tok_inf_df = tokenize_df(**test**, "response")
# Get tokenized part (not Counter of subwords)
inf_dl = learner.dls.test_dl(tok_inf_df[0], num_workers=0, bs=1)

all_predictions = learner.get_preds(dl=inf_dl, reorder=False)
all_predictions

When I run this code with the following test data, with two different samples, it runs fine:

test = pd.DataFrame([[100, 'This will start the debugging session immediately when you run the cell. What that means is that you would want to use some of the commands that pdb supports to step into the code and examine the function or variables as needed.'],
                     [200, 'In this chapter we learned of several different methods that you can use to debug the code in your Jupyter Notebook. I personally prefer to use Pythons pdb module, but you can use the IPython.core.debugger to get the same functionality and it could be better if you prefer to have syntax highlighting.']], columns=['response_index', 'response'])

# Tokenize DataFrame
tok_inf_df = tokenize_df(test, "response")