Best way to use my model (Binary Segmentation) on my .NET solution?

Hello,
I created a Binary Segmentation model (like this Github : link Thank to @muellerzr ), and I have a very good and quick result, 0.5sec per image.

Now I want to use this model (with this time of execution <1sec) on my WPF .NET 4.8 application, but I don’t know the best way to use it. My application will execute only on local computer without internet connexion.

I use :
Python 3.8.5
Fastai 2.1.10

There are several solutions, such as :

• ONNX
  • execute pyhton process

Thanks for your help.

For simple applications, using fastais inference functions should suffice. Have a look at this tutorial.

@muellerzr also has created a nice add-on to fastai for inference:

All this should work without internet connection and can be implemented on your local computers CPU.

3 Likes

I have zero experience with .NET so take this with a pinch of salt but I believe onnxruntime is well supported on .NET because of the Microsoft link. You might have already seen this but if not, there is a video discussing onnxruntime deploying a model within .NET. I have done a little bit of work with ONNX recently and the main things to watch out for are:

• the conversion of the model from Pytorch/fastai is correct. I’ve sometimes had the model successfully convert but the results are off. The main thing that can cause this are layers not supported by ONNX.
  • you mimic the transformations you did in the training loop, in particular the transformations used on the validation set. This can be a bit of a pain and I guess this might be where things might have to be done more by hand than you might like.