Advice for working on TEM images of kidneys

Hi,

I am a novice working through the Deep Learning for Coders book.
I want to work on transfer electronic microscopy images.

I have realized that annotating them is a very time consuming so I want to try to build a model to segment the images. I am a bit overwhelmed and so some advice to get me going would be much appreciated. As an aside, these images do not have color and are currently in a TIF format.

Any help is appreciated. L

Hi there,

Training U-Net for segmentation requires pixel maps (where each pixel has a class). If you are patient you can draw them and try to start with a low number 20 or 30 or even 10 and use transfer learning. By the way what exactly would you like to segment? Is it a binary segmentation problem or do you have multiple classes?

If you don’t want to draw masks you can still try point regression to find key points in an image or object detection (train a neural net to detect bounding boxes around an object). For the later fastai unfortunately does not have support yet, but there are other open source libs.

Hope that helps.

1 Like

Dear jc-denton,

Thanks a lot. I have annotated substantial parts of the images with a brushtool. So I did not use boxing. I guess I could give all the non annotated parts a generic annotation.
I have not yet 10 images but I am getting there. Annotating one image is a hefty job as I try to annotate at a pixel level tiny parts (in a given image there are many tiny parts).

I have 3 classes I’d like to annotate, but I could drop one if needed.

Any other help is appreciated. This is all pretty overwhelming for a novice -and exciting.

Kind regards, Louis