Add Penalty to loss based on predictions of the model

Hey everyone, i am pretty new to fastai and hope someone can help me with a callback.

I have a dataset that is just a bit to small so i would like to be able to tune the factor importance some more under certain conditions. I would like to add a penalty to the loss, and this penalty i would like to calculate based on the predictions of the current model during training.

The Example
I made an example using the adult.csv dataset. Basically what i would like is to be able to run a callback after the loss is calculated which takes the model and the data from the current batch and then varies a factor which i believe should have no influence under certain conditions. In this example (that i now made up) i would like to say that if the workclass is ‘Self-emp’, the column hours-per-week should be of no influence.

What i would like the callback to do
In the callback i would look up the range of the values in hours-per-week and predict on that range for rows in which the workclass is Self-emp. Then i take all the predictions and calculate the variance, which is what i add to the loss (later this should probably get multiplied by some weight which should be another hyperparameter).

Example code

from fastai.tabular.all import *
path = untar_data(URLs.ADULT_SAMPLE)
df = pd.read_csv(path/'adult.csv')

df['workclass'].unique()

dls = TabularDataLoaders.from_df(df,# path, 
    procs=[Categorify, FillMissing, Normalize],
    cat_names=['workclass', 'education', 'marital-status', 'occupation', 'relationship', 'race'], 
    cont_names=['age', 'fnlwgt', 'education-num', 'hours-per-week'],
    y_names='salary', valid_idx=list(range(1024,1260)), bs=64)

class AddCustomPenalty(Callback):
    def after_loss(self):
        xd = self.dls.train.decode(self.xb).decode()
        f_name = 'hours-per-week' # just an example
        f_min = xd[f_name].min()
        f_max = xd[f_name].max()
        for i in range(len(xd)):