Achieving top 10% in MNIST competition on Kaggle

Hey everyone,
I am just getting started with FastAI and am trying to implement what we learned in lesson 1 on Digit Recognizer competition on Kaggle. I am currently in top 22%. I am using Resnet18 with 30 epochs and learning rate of 1e-6.
How can I improve it?
Below is the link to my Notebook. Any suggestions would be really appreciated.

https://www.kaggle.com/sanwal092/fastai-lesson-1-mnist-implement

2 Likes

Working on the same stuff here.
Consider Resnet50 for a change.
I see you ran considerably more epochs with good effect.

Yes. I tried Resnet 18 with 30 epochs. It took almost 1.5 hours on Keras GPU. I am going to try Resnet 34 with around 15 epochs and see what happens

@sinsji
Update 1: Tried Resnet34, 15 epochs with lr = 4e-7. The training took about 30 minutes on Kaggle GPU. The score increased by 2 positions, no percentage change. Will try 20 epochs next

UPDATE 2: Reached 99.10% with ResNet34, 20 epochs, lr = 4e-6. I have reached 99.428% using TensorFlow implementing custom Neural Net architecture. I am trying to beat that.
Moving to ResNet50 now.

UPDATE 3: Tried Resnet50 with 15 epochs, LR = 4e-6 The score fell down to 97.5%. This architecture takes longer to train and might be an overkill.

UPDATE 4: MAJOR UPDATE. I cracked top 13%. Used Resnet34 with 30 epochs, batch size of 256, learning range of slice(1e-3,1e-2). I normalized the data not with mnist_stats but with imagenet_stats

Okay interesting.
I’m thinking about useful transformations myself.
With the large number of training images, I doubt whether transformations are very useful.
Good luck.

I will be adding my results in the above comment as I iterate through it if you would like to check back!!

I cracked top 13%

Congrats on the improvement.

Why the 256 batch size? Any reasoning behind it why it could make a difference?
Do you use a continues run of 20-30 epochs or do you run fit_one_cycle multiple times?