Python and keras questions and tips

The last survey showed that quite a few people are having trouble understanding how keras is used to implement models. I know from chatting to a couple of you that learning python is part of this challenge. I’m planning to create some introductory python data science videos that you can use to help get up and running with the basic python skills and tools you need.

It would help me a lot to do a reasonable job of this if I have some experience answering questions about this topic. There hasn’t really been many (any?) questions about python and keras syntax and methods on the forums yet - so I’m hoping that creating this topic will encourage some questions; I’m especially interested in python beginner’s questions.

I’ll start with a tip. If you want to know how some python function or method works, just precede it with a ‘?’ in jupyter notebook, like so:

(Also - let us know your favorite tips for learning and using python!)

6 Likes

https://elitedatascience.com/learn-python-for-data-science

Since I did not find any other thread dealing with questions specific to Pandas, I am posting here.
I am not very experienced with Pandas and hence am trying out various things for learning.

I have a text file(~3GB) with the dataset, however I am only reading the first n rows using pandas.read_table by setting nrows parameter. This works pretty fast even for 300000 rows.
After this, I need to transform the data and am doing this using pivot_table. Now, this is where I am currently facing an issue. Everything works fine when I do this for upto 60000 rows. After that, pivot_table causes a crash. Not just the script, but the computer itself crashes.

I have tried several things so far- like using pivot(also crashes), manually transforming the data(this however doesn’t get the data in the exact desired format). I also tried using numpy.genfromtext. However, in that case, transformation becomes more complicated as there are non-numeric indices.