My experience keeping it on AWS free tier

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to AWS, and I’m not a programmer by trade. I initially followed the getting started instructions for creating an EC2 instance using the 128GB ami, but being cost conscious, I wanted to try to find ways to optimize and keep on the free AWS tier for the first 12 months. I thought I would write out the rough steps I did, in the event it is helpful to any other newbies.

Getting going from “scratch”

First things first, it is easy to create a smaller EC2 instance and get it running. Thanks to the install-gpu.sh shell script, much of the install is taken care of for you. Like I mentioned, first I went with the standard 128GB ami provided by Jeremy and Rachel. Then I found a great thread on reducing size of volume from vshets. His ami used the full 30GB of free-tier-eligible EBS, and didn’t really provide me a practical way to manage things.

So, using the aws portal, I created a new, slightly smaller EC2 instance. For this pass, I went with 24GB. I have some thoughts on lowering that, which I’ll get to shortly. After logging in, creating my desired directory structure, I ran the install-gpu.sh script.

I found this generally worked, but it didn’t add the nvcc path to my ~/.bashrc file, so I had to manually add it. Adding the following two lines to my ~/.bashrc file did the trick.

export PATH=/usr/local/cuda-8.0/bin:$PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/cuda-8.0/lib64:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

Oh, and for whatever reason, jupyter notebook wasn’t recognized. So I added this line to ~/.bashrc

export PATH="/home/ubuntu/anaconda2/bin:$PATH"

I also had to downgrade keras to version 1.2.2, as mentioned in another thread.

sudo pip install keras==1.2.2

At this point, things worked and I was able to get through lesson 1. I’m currently running the first full pass at the State Farm distracted driving kaggle contest.

Next Steps