Looking for help in improving accuracy for medical images with pre-trained resnet34

Hello! I am new in deep learning and just came across fastai courses that are really helpful. I hope I am at right place to ask some basic question. I am trying to classify the mammograms ( two-class classification of Normal and Abnormal mammograms). I have 113 images in each class that I split into 70/30 % for training and validation. The original image size was 1024×1024 that I resized to 256×256. I am using lesson 1 code of pre-trained resnet34. However, my accuracy is very low only 56%. I tried different learning rate from very small to very large, fine-tuning and data augmentation, decreasing batch size (as mentioned in lesson 1 and from forum discussions)but accuracy didn’t increase. I thought that its due to the limited data set issue so I used the brain tumor data for two-class classification( High-grade and low-grade glioma) with 3500 images in each class and split into 70/30% for training and validation. But accuracy is again very low for this dataset as well (57% only).

epoch trn_loss val_loss accuracy
0 0.878705 0.713431 0.553704
1 0.759731 0.74839 0.580199
2 0.649979 0.781864 0.576496

How can I add more data augmentation into tfms_from_model . What other tricks can I try to increase accuracy on medical images?

Need help in coding part to edit function for data augmentation. How can I add other data augmentation like flip, shift, rotation, scaling

tfms = tfms_from_model(resnet34, sz, aug_tfms=transforms_side_on, max_zoom=1.1)

I tested the same code of lesson 1 on natural images for two-class classification with fewer images and got reasonable accuracy, but for medical images it’s not working well.

Can you post some images?

Can you post some images after applying the transforms?

Did you unfreeze the earlier layers to enable updating the weights?

How do the 256x256 images look to you?

Thank you very much for your reply.