Different transforms for x and y during augmentation

Hi, I’m new to fast.ai environnement :slight_smile:

Is it possible to apply a different augmentation to the image target ?
For exemple in lesson 14 :

tfms = tfms_from_model(arch, sz_lr, tfm_y=TfmType.PIXEL, aug_tfms=aug_tfms, sz_y=sz_hr)
datasets = ImageData.get_ds(MatchedFilesDataset, (trn_x,trn_y), (val_x,val_y), tfms, path=PATH_TRN)

We use sz_lr on x and sz_y on y, but is it possible to apply aug_tfms on x and aug_tfms + grayscale (for exemple) only on the target image y ?

Thank you.

1 Like

tfms is a tuple of two Transforms lists. The first one is applied to your x and the second one to your y, so between your two lines, you can add/remove anything you want to each elements of tfms.

1 Like

Thank you for the quick response !

Edit : I think I got it !
Edit 2 : I don’t actually :frowning:

What is the correct way to add a tranform to tfms ?

I converted it to a list but tfms_list[0] is of type Transforms, how can I add something like RandomDihedral() since it’s of type RandomDihedral ?

Thank you ?

try this:
aug_tfms=[RandomCrop(…), RandomFlip(), RandomDihedral(), … ]

you can think of ‘aug_tfms’ as a list of functions that are applied to image. Each function takes an image as input. For 'RandomCrop() you have to provide crop size also eg ‘RandomCrop(224)’.
Hope this helps a bit :slight_smile:

This list of functions is applied to x and y, I want to apply something different on y.

@sgugger Basically gave me the anwser but I’m new to python and I don’t know how to add something like RandomFlip to a list of type Transforms

I don’t understand either how the first list of tfms is applied to x and the second to y when my tfms is like that: