Can I use Python 3 for this course?

Dear all:

I am new to this course, and am eager to learn. My first question is can I use Python 3 for this course? The video says we should install Python 2.7.

Anyone has used Python 3 for this course? Thank you.

1 Like

Are you planning on using the amazon instance in the getting started lesson? It comes from theano installed with the python 2 distribution. You can use python 3, but if you see from the utils.py, the _future_ basically lets you write the code as if your were in python 3 if you were checking for syntax. Otherwise, if youā€™re using your own system, then python 3 should be fine.

2 Likes

Hi, herk:

Yes, I will follow the course materials and use amazon GPU machine. You mean Amazon machine only comes with Python 2 distribution, no Python 3?

ā€œbasically lets you write the code as if your were in python 3ā€: I am not quite clear about this. You mean I still should use Python 2, if I use Amazon machine? I can use Python 2 if I must; otherwise, I prefer Python 3. Thanks.

It comes with python 2 and python 3. Theano, however, is already installed with the Anaconda python 2 distribution.

ā€œbasically lets you write the code as if your were in python 3ā€ just means that the future statements let the division and print statements act like python 3ā€™s print and division. It might be easier to follow along with the stuff already installed.

Use python 2 unless you need something from python 3. You can install all the dependencies with python 3 though. I was trying to install theano on my windows PC, which has a Nvidia GPU too, but I ran into some problems. For some reason, tensorflow works, but Theano was a pain to get up and running.

1 Like